Lost In Boston

You know? The problem with writing a traveling blog about the best bars in a city is that you have to travel constantly. Now that I’m non-stop working, that unfortunately does not happen as much. That is, unless you have an awesome job that pays you to travel.

Cue Boston work trip. Oh but this was much more than a work trip for me. It was Boston: not only one of my top cities in the US but a mecca of good bars and great brews.

IMG_7734

Every time I go to Boston, I fall more and more in love. From previous posts, you know my favorite thing to do is to completely get lost. Well, in Boston, even if you get lost, you’ll always find something familiar which is actually quite refreshing. There are definitely the cities (i.e. NYC) that if I’m wandering alone, there’s always a slight fear of getting so incredibly turned around that I’ll somehow end up in a place where I’m not only the only white girl for miles, but the only blonde haired, tattooed, white girl that’s ever walked through those streets. And although I love to wander, I try to avoid that situation at all costs.

As for Boston, man, I TRIED to get lost. There was just too much to see to have a schedule, and too much to miss to not have one. While I was busy 9-5 every day I was there, that didn’t keep me from exploring this town I had come to love: food, brews, and all.

IMG_7784

I’ve said before, you’re going to get some food reviews in here as well and Boston is one of those places. Three words: THE. BARKING. CRAB. Ridiculous name, right? So ridiculous that I questioned even taking the walk there. But I did it, along pothole-filled roads behind skyscraper construction to a little patio restaurant right on the bay. And there’s one rule when I’m in that area: eat all the seafood that you can. So what did that mean? Some incredible juicy melt-in-your-mouth lobster every. single. night.

IMG_7780

But the best by far was The Barking Crab. Ignoring the construction men on their lunch break from the skyscraper across the street with the thick Boston accent that does absolutely NOTHING for me, I devoured the naked lobster roll in the least sexy way I knew how (Meanwhile, my two close girl friends decide to FaceTime me. Buttery hands, messy face, construction men hoots and hollers, and my two girl friends laughing at me. Let’s just say I’ll never forget this meal as I’m sure I just looked like a hot mess). Regardless, that was the best lobster roll I’ve ever had. So if you head to Boston, go to The Barking Crab. But try to avoid wearing long sleeves in the middle of August, even if you do find 70 degrees to be freezing. Everyone and their mother will call you a Floridian, even before knowing you’re from Florida. Hey, at least I can say my R’s, Bostonians…

So after a long day of work, I was on a mission to find a new bar every night. Now, although I could easily name at least 5-7 bars that I absolutely loved, I wanted to stick to a brief two.

The first was a bar that I would’ve never walked into on my own, nor would I even have known it existed. As a friend of mine led me toward the Gap (yes, the Gap. You read that right.), we walked down a small set of stairs into an underground bar. Under the Gap. Mind. Blown. Either way, incredible atmosphere. Incredible food. Incredible music. When you walk in to a bar with Seu Jorge playing and offering some finely crafted gin cocktails, you’ve won me over. So, to keep this brief, if you’re ever in Boston, head on over to Beat Hotel in Harvard Square. Grab a group of your friends and enjoy some live music and an amazing cocktail. You won’t be disappointed.

beathotel

The second bar I fell in love with is going to be in quite a bit more detail (one reason is because I have pictures of it and the other reason is because I wasn’t already drunk when I got there as I was when I walked into Beat Hotel. I’m not picking favorites here, people).

IMG_7744Who would’ve ever thought I’d say, “Hey. I’m going to church before the Red Sox game”? Oh but I did. And I confessed my sins by drinking them. Let me explain.IMG_7741

Welcome to Church. And the pleasant kind. Not the kind where you sit while someone preaches to you about not sinning and giving your life up to some spirit. The kind where they offer you sinfully delicious drinks. Sacrilegious? Maybe. But I loved it.

 

This bar was equipped for all types of customers: cute outside patio dining for the hippies, inside leather seating for the “adults”, and grungy music club for the punks. God, it was my heaven (pun intended). Now, good brews aren’t in rare form in Boston. It’s no surprise to find some of my favorite beers on draft regularly as these bars. But Church stepped it up a bit. And their drinks… dear god their drinks. Since my mouth is watering too much to describe them, I’ll just post their drink list for you…

IMG_7746

So if you head to Boston, go ahead and head on over to a Red Sox game at Fenway since it’s required. But be sure to stop at Church before you go. God only knows what trouble you’re about to get into in Beantown…

Leave a comment